Listen to online audio shows featuring news and interviews from Drivers, tracks, series, and teams involved in dirt racing in the Northwest. Find the podcast below you want to listen to and push play. If you want to subscribe to my podcast on I Tunes click on this link. itpc://


The Latest NEWS

Please follow me on facebook and twitter for updates as we share all the offseason news as we get ready for another great season here in the NW.



All of my podcasts are up at

NW Focus Midget Party

Monster Meltdown

Deming Big Al Race

Shaun In The Dirt Podcast Night 1 Dirt Cup 2015 posted on 6/26/15

Interviews with Scotty Cook, Tayler Malsam, Brock Lemley, Daniel Anderson, Jaime Duff, Colton Heath, Jason Solwold, Jason Johnson
Burlington, WA | 6/26/15- The first night of the Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup featuring the Lucas Oil ASCS Series is in the books. I talked to the Washington driver podium sweep of Jason Solwold, Colton Heath, and Taylor Malsam. Before the racing action got going I talked to Scotty Cook who travels with the Racin Boys and does the pit reporting. I talked to Tayler Malsam, and Brock Lemley about the dirt cup format change and their season and two travels from New Zealand Daniel Anderson, and Jaime Duff. It was a fun start to the weekend and looking forward to night 2 of the Dirt Cup where we will set the first 16 spots in Saturday nights $15,000 to win Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup.

The link to the podcast is

Shaun In The Dirt Podcast #118 posted on 6/13/15

Shaun In The Dirt Podcast #118 posted on 6/13/15
Interviews with Frosty Metcalfe, Liam Ryan, Jake Helsel, AJ Harbaugh, Tyson Cross, Jared Gunderson, Tanner Holm, Eric Turner, Shaun Holtorf (Sherm), Peyton Reed, Dylan and Brian Resch, Jon Farrell (Muffin), Jesse Schlotfeldt, Chance Crum. 
Everett, WA | 6/13/15 - I start off this podcast with 4 interviews from the May 15th action at Deming Speedway. I start off with Frosty Metcalfe talking about his runner up finish in the 1200 division. Then I talked to the winners of 600 Liam Ryan, 1200 Jake Helsel, 600 restricted AJ Harbaugh. Then I finish up the podcast with interviews from the June 12th night at Deming Speedway. Before the race we talk to Tyson Cross about his season, his fire a few weeks ago, his wins and running non wing. Jared Gunderson, Tanner Holm, Eric Turner, Shaun Holtorf, and Peyton Reed talked about their season and racing at Deming Speedway. Then I finish up the pre-race portion of the night talking to Dylan Resch about his season, and his dad Brian about the Tyson Cross fire and why he started the bail out challenge. Then after qualifying I caught up with quick time Jon Farrell talking about his new car, and race winners Jesse Schlotfeldt (600r), Jared Gunderson (1200 nw), Change Crum (600).

‚ÄčShaun In The Dirt Podcast #117 posted on 5/6/15 

Shaun In The Dirt Podcast #117 posted on 5/6/15 
Interviews with Jake Helsel, Riley Watkins, Kevin Wilkinson, Peyton Rambo, Sawyer Sorgenfrei, Tyson Cross, Austin Sheridan, Chase Goetz, Robbie Price, Garrett Thomas, Lawrence O’Connor 
Everett, WA | 5/6/15 - I had a chance to finally kick off the 2015 Shaun In the Dirt Podcast season with back to back nights at Deming Speedway and Skagit Speedway. At Deming Speedway for race 2 of the season you hear from run ups in the 1200 Jake Helsel, 600 restricted Riley Watkins, 600 open Kevin Wilkinson, and Kasey Kahne Jr winner Peyton Rambo, 600 restricted Sawer Sorgenfrei, 1200 Tyson Cross, and 600 open Austin Sheridan. At Skagit Speedway for the Summer Thunder Series you hear from runner up Chase Goetz, winner Robbie Price, Northwest Focus Midget winner Garrett Thomas, and Modified winner Lawrence O’Connor.

Shaun In The Dirt Podcast from the 2015 Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony posted on 3/22/15

Interviews with Rick Leighty, Carrie Babcock and Troy Zvono (family of Mike Zvono), John Dickinson, Earl Fritts, Wes Gibbs and Cheryl (family of Charlie Gibbs Jr), John Vandyck, Ken Courts, Earle Sargent, and Glenn Vincent

Everett, WA | 3/22/15 - I had the honor of traveling down to Elma for the Elma Auto Racing 2015 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Right after they were inducted I had the chance to talk to all of the inductees or their family that represented them. It was such an honor to get to talk to all of these great people and their families and give you just a little slice of the history of Auto Racing in the Elma area. 

I want to thank Rick and the entire Hall of Fame for letting me come down and interview all of the inductees. 

Check it out at

Here is the Press Release courtesy of The Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame when they announced their class back in February.

Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2015

Elma, WA (February 7, 2015)…..Eight men covering 7 different decades of auto racing at Grays Harbor Raceway have been announced as the next group to be enshrined into the Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame.

The class of 2015 will officially enter the EARHoF at the7th Annual Induction Ceremony and Silent Auction on Saturday, March 21, 2015.

The newest group contains track champions, longtime officials, crew members, track workers, and supporters who have made the racing experience special for the fans of Grays Harbor Raceway.

Mike Zvono, a four time sprint car champion from 1985 – 1988, will join his father, Nick, as an EARHoF Inductee. Zvono, who is deceased, will be represented by his family at the official ceremony.

John Dickinson began as crew member and partner on a jalopy in 1968, eventually becoming one of the top crew chiefs in the sprint car ranks. Dickinson also led the Evergreen Auto Racing Association as president during the 1990s. Now residing in Arizona, Dickinson plans to return for the Inductions.

Charlie Gibbs, Jr. brought his semi-modified from his hometown of Sedro Woolley to the Elma ½ mile in the late 1960s and raced to the track championship in 1970. The deceased Gibbs, a top runner at many Northwest tracks in his driving days, will be represented by his family.

Earl Fritts won the 1970 Jalopy Championship, moved on to be a top competitor in the semi-modifieds and eventually raced super-modifieds throughout the Northwest. A former instructor at West Point, Fritts hopes to return from Arizona for the activities.

John VanWyck held many duties at the race track including race driver. The Aberdeen resident claimed the 1977 Hobby Stock Championship during his driving days and then became one of the most valuable track workers for many years as tow truck operator.

Ken Courts days in racing date back to Central Parks Evergreen Speedway in the mid 1950s. Courts competed primarily in jalopies and hobby stocks, but could be found helping anyone who needed help in any class of car.

Earle Sargent purchased his first race car for $50 and began racing at the Elma Fairgrounds in 1957. Sargent later became a crew member on cars owned by Perry Crowell and has remained a racing fanatic to this day missing very few races. Sargent will be inducted at the 2015 Larry Spoon Distinguished Service Award recipient.

Glenn Vincent put his name in the record books as the 1997 Super Stock Champion, but his influence and legacy on racing at Grays Harbor Raceway continues today. Vincent had a big hand in getting the current modified class started and then the Modified Nationals that attract top racers to Elma each year and through his Shipwreck Beads continues to sponsor the class. Fans in the stands are very aware of his many fan friendly activities. Vincent will enter the EARHoF as the 2015 Fred Brownfield Exemplary Contribution Award recipient.


Past photos.



Site Designed By: TJ Hartman (
If you see any errors, please